Lonnie D. Russell Merit Award

Established in memory of Dr. Lonnie Russell, who was a faculty member at the Southern Illinois University School of Medicine, Carbondale, IL, and is funded by Chang/Russell Education and Trainee Experience Endowment (CREATE).

This award is conferred upon anyone qualified to be a Trainee Member of the Society who, in the judgment of the Awards Committee, has presented at the Annual Meeting the best original laboratory or clinical research report in andrology. This award is to be presented at the Annual Meeting in years when an appropriate individual is identified. The Awards Committee revised this merit award in May 2016.

Award Recepients

  • 2024 – Penny Whiley, PhD
  • 2023 – Pierre Ferrer, BS
  • 2022 – Ferran Barrachina, PhD
  • 2021 – Lu Li, PhD
  • 2019 Chatchaman Doungkamchan, MD
  • 2018 Qian Huang
  • 2017 Parag Parekh, PhD 
    (Mentors: Hooman Sadri-Ardekani, MD, PhD; Anthony Atala, MD)
  • 2016 Jennifer Chan
  • 2015 Elizabeth Snyder, PhD 
    (Mentor: Robert Braun)
  • 2014 Tegan Smith, Hanna Valli 
    (Mentors: Nicolas Da Silva, Kyle Orwing)
  • 2013 Akanksha Mehta 
    (Mentor: Darius Paduch)
  • 2012 Yue Jia 
    (Mentor: Ronald S. Swerdloff)
  • 2011 Jun Zhang 
    (Mentor: Jeffrey Lysiak)
  • 2010 Matthew Marcello 
    (Mentor: Janice Evans)
  • 2009 Petrice Brown 
    (Mentor: Patricia Morris)
  • 2008 Katja Wolski 
    (Mentor: Moira O’Bryan)
  • 2007 Zaohua Huang 
    (Mentor: Deborah O’Brien)
  • 2006 Polina Danshina 
    (Mentor: Deborah O’Brien)